European Union: from six to 27
Sunday, January 26, 2020       11:42 WIB

Paris, Jan 26, 2020 (AFP)
For more than six decades, the European Union has expanded to encompass 28 member countries, and Britain's departure will mark its first contraction.
Here is a timeline:
-- 1957: Six countries -- Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands -- sign the Treaty of Rome establishing the European Economic Community (EEC), the precursor to the EU.
-- 1973: Britain, Denmark and Ireland join the bloc, taking the number of members to nine.
-- 1981: Greece becomes the 10th member.
-- 1986: Portugal and Spain join.
-- 1995: Austria, Finland and Sweden enter what has evolved into the EU, which now has 15 members. Norway rejects accession in a referendum.
-- 2004: Eight ex-communist Eastern European countries and two Mediterranean nations join up: Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. The bloc swells to 25 members.
-- 2007: Bulgaria and Romania take the EU to 27 member nations.
-- 2013: Croatia becomes the 28th.
-- 2020: Britain becomes the first member state to leave the EU, after a seismic 2016 referendum vote to quit the bloc.

Sumber : AFP